unfolding

Hi.

I’m back.

I’m also done.  It feels great, yeah, but it also feels exactly the same.  At a party this weekend I was talking to a friend/acquaintance (not exactly sure where I fall in his world) and I found myself reverting back to Sixteen Candles to explain my feelings post-dissertation defense and graduation.

Remember when Molly Ringwald’s character, Sam, wakes up on her sixteenth birthday, calls her friend, and tries to assess her feelings?  Allow me…

“No, I didn’t expect to wake up transformed.  I just thought that turning sixteen would be so major that I’d wake up with an improved mental state that would show up on my face.  All it shows is that I don’t have any sort of a tan left.”

Love that!  And I didn’t even get a tan this summer…

The past two months have been a blur.  I revisited a folder that I created while finishing my diss and I found a full summary of an article I don’t even remember reading.  And that is why I titled this post “Unfolding.”  In a lot of ways, the past two months have been busy, but they’ve also been an exercise in psychic (and physical) stretching out.  I didn’t realize how focused I’d been while writing–hence, documents I have no recollection of reading or summarizing.

So, I’ll be posting with a slightly greater degree of frequency, and maybe even about knitting!

4 Responses to “unfolding”

  1. your good friend, liz Says:

    I’m glad you’re posting again! I look forward to your musings on whatever you’ve got going. YAY.

  2. abby Says:

    YIPPEE!

    I wonder if you ever fixed the neck on your hourglass sweater.
    I’m knitting a clapotis for a friend now. I’m rather far along, thanks to the debates. I’m also thinking about knitting the Liesl cardi. Seems like a good first sweater.

    Anyway, it made me very happy to see a new post from you on my Google Reader.

  3. ryan Says:

    done? with what? you were working on something?

    jk – congratulations! when you coming to visit UCSD?

  4. Reendog Says:

    CONGRATS! I can’t believe that it’s been so long since I’ve seen or talked to you, but I’ve been lurking around your postings here–especially since your e-mail (the “fuse.net” one) went boobs up! You’ll hafta e-mail me the new one…

    meanwhile, yay! Got ‘er done! What’s next?

    Miss you!

Leave a Reply

